Summer Reading List: Part 1

Nose in book, coffee in hand. Here are the stories that have kept me company since leaving San Francisco:

A Man Called Ove

Fredrick Backman

The back cover describes the book as “charming” but I honestly didn’t expect to cry. A story about an old man, I didn’t realize until later how fitting it was to be reading it in my grandparents’ house.

 

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Maya Angelou

I came across a bookstore with American literature in Tokyo — jackpot. Angelou’s story kicked off my string of memoirs next on my list.

Wild

Cheryl Strayed

How could I have road tripped through the PNW without this? If you’ve seen the movie, read the book.

 

Milk and Honey

Rupi Kaur

Ranked #1 best seller at Powell’s bookstore in Portland, OR (best place on Earth). Didn’t think a book of poetry would be my thing but I was very wrong.

Barbarian Days

William Finnegan

Recommended as the perfect book to read pre-Costa Rica surf trip. Now I want to live out of a backpack and chase waves permanently.

DCIM100GOPRO

Swing Time

Zadie Smith

My high school friends started a book club via Facebook group and I just got around to finishing the February pick — which happened to be about childhood friendship.

Into the Water

Paula Hawkins

What’s a cross country road trip without an audiobook thriller to keep us awake through the Nebraska/Iowa haul? Not so classic whodunit.

Diary of an Oxygen Thief

Anonymous

A misogynist sociopath gets his heart broken. I devoured this in a few hours and then re-read it the next day. There is a sequel that’s already in my Amazon cart.

19970900_10155648164208783_512956108_n.jpg

What should I read next?

 

Leave a Reply

